

CLIMATE CHANGE ADVISORY COUNCIL STATEMENT

CLIMATE CHANGE ADVISORY COUNCIL DISAPPOINTED BY BUDGET 2019

The Climate Change Advisory Council has expressed its disappointment at the Budget 2019 decision not to increase the carbon tax in Ireland.

"After this week's publication of the IPCC's special report on global warming of 1.5°C, which highlighted the absolute urgency to introduce measures that reduce emissions, this lack of action on increasing the carbon tax signals that the government is not ready to take the obligations of tackling climate change seriously," said Chair of the Council, Professor John FitzGerald.

"The Council has consistently stated that the current level of the carbon tax in Ireland is insufficient to achieve our national climate change objectives, and that any increase in carbon taxation should be accompanied by measures to address negative impacts on poorer households," said Professor FitzGerald.

In the Council's Annual Review 2018 published in July, the Council recommended to government an initial increase in the carbon tax to €30 per tonne in Budget 2019 as an essential first step in achieving low-carbon transition.

"Carbon tax is a key component of transition to a low-carbon, climate-resilient and environmentally sustainable economy. Budget 2019 is a missed opportunity to implement the necessary price signal for Ireland's transition. The urgency of taking action to tackle climate change, emphasised by yesterday's IPCC Report, means that this delay will make it much more difficult to reach our targets for reducing emissions and will increase climate-related risks to health, livelihoods, food security, water supply, human security, and economic growth." said Professor FitzGerald.

Ends

For further information please contact:

Climate Change Advisory Council Secretariat

Ph: +353 126 801 80 Email: media@climatecouncil.ie



Editor Notes

The Climate Change Advisory Council is an independent, statutory body established under the Climate Action and Low Carbon Development Act 2015. Its role includes the provision of advice to Government on national policy relating to climate change. It was formally established in January 2016.

Climate Change Advisory Council Members

Prof John FitzGerald, Chair of the Climate Change Advisory Council

Laura Burke (Director General, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); ex-officio)

Prof Alan Barrett (Director, Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI); ex-officio)

Jim Gannon, (CEO Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI); ex-officio)

Prof Gerry Boyle, (Director of Teagasc; ex-officio)

Prof Ottmar Edenhofer, (Designated Director and Chief Economist at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK))

Prof Frank Convery (Chief Economist, Environmental Defence Fund, New York)

Prof Peter Clinch (Jean Monnet Chair of European Economic Integration and Professor of Public Policy at University College Dublin)

Prof Anna Davies (Professor of Geography at Trinity College Dublin)

Prof Alan Matthews (Professor Emeritus of European Agricultural Policy at Trinity College Dublin)

Joseph Curtin (Senior Research Fellow, at the Institute of International and European Affairs (IIEA).